Creative Wisdom

2

August 7, 2017 by maryruwe

8b439f9ea13681e88dd2182a0cb1b324This past week I’ve been laying out material to make quilts.  Matching colors and prints and deciding how to cut the shapes.  Then yesterday morning I woke up thinking about quilt designs!  That’s right, quilt designs were the first thing on my mind when I awoke.  I immediately got up and drew out those design patterns.  A few weeks ago I’d been crocheting and patterns for doilies kept coming to me.  Perhaps you have a garden and study how to plant and care for the seeds to get the most produce and you receive ideas of how to be a better gardener.  My husband does woodworking and he thinks a lot about the best way to put something together.   My thought is: how often do we realize this is God’s Creative Wisdom coming to us.  The more we practice listening to Him – even in things that have to do with our natural lives – the easier it will be to hear Him when He speaks of spiritual truths to us.

Some of you might be thinking this is a bit farfetched, unconventional and unorthodox but I assure you there is a basis for me believing it.

In Exodus (chapters 28 and 31) we can read how God gave men and women wisdom, understanding and knowledge to know how to work with gold, silver, bronze, cutting jewels, carving wood and even sewing, so they could build the Tabernacle and make the priestly garments.  We can also read in Daniel 1:7 where God gave the four young Hebrew men knowledge and skill in all literature and wisdom when they were carried off as slaves to Babylon.  God is the Creator so of course all creative ideas come from Him.  What we do with them basically is up to us.  We can either actively use them or let them lay dormant and never come to fruition.  We can even decide how to use our talents, skills, and knowledge – for good or for evil – because God has given us the right to make decisions.  (Deuteronomy 30:19)

God is the same yesterday, today and forever so He is still willing to give us wisdom for whenever we need it; all we have to do is ask Him for wisdom.  (Hebrews 1:8, James 1:5)

I don’t know about you but I usually hear God’s voice easier when I’m quiet, which is why we should spend some time alone with Him in quietness and without distractions. To tell you the truth I hear Him more clearly either right after I go to bed at night or early in the morning when first getting up; both times the house is quiet.  When I hear Him talking to me I will get up and write it down, even if it’s in the middle of the night.  Sometimes it has to do with a subject for this blog, a reminder that I forgot to do something that day, or what I need to do the next day.  A lot of times it has to do with praying for a person or a situation.  My purpose in sharing this with you is to encourage you to listen for the voice of God.  He is speaking things to us, and sometimes its creative ideas He wants to give us, even if it’s sewing, gardening,  or a project at work.  I especially get excited when He shows me how to minister His Principle Truths to someone so they can learn how to walk by faith or be encouraged to stand strong in their faith, and receive the blessings God has for them.  That’s the good work He has called all of us to –that we would be a blessing to others in ministering the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  (2 Corinthians 9:8, Ephesians 2:10, Philippians 1:6, Colossians 1:10)

Now what I’m about to say probably isn’t new to anyone:  whatever area in life we focus our attention on the most, that will be the area we will receive new revelation and understanding in the most!  So the more we focus on the Word of God, the more revelation we will receive from our Lord.  It’s a simple truth.  

In these last days we hear almost daily of creative ideas and inventions, especially in the area of technology.  Shouldn’t we as Christians, God’s sons and daughters, be hearing His voice as often too?  Yes, we should!

God loves you and has great plans and purpose for your life.  He tells us in Jeremiah 29:11 that His thoughts toward us are thoughts of peace, and well-being, to give us a future and a hope.  Psalm 111:10 teaches us, “the fear (reverence) of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom: a good understanding have all they that do his commandments: his praise endures forever.

So I challenge and encourage you to make time each day to listen for the voice of God your Creator.  Listen for instruction, direction, guidance, creative ideas, and certainly for His wisdom for decisions you have to make every day, and then obey His leading.    

Have a great week.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Creative Wisdom

  1. Lisa G says:

    Really good, Mary! I have recently been asking God for more wisdom, so this was a timely read. Thank you!

    • maryruwe says:

      Thanks Lisa, glad you enjoyed my post. I really think it is awesome how God teaches us Spiritual truths by natural means; like learning to listen and follow direction for the doilies and quilts, I’m learning to hear Him more clearing … all the time…

Leave a Reply

karlaskadence

Music and Words, Rhythmically Played.

Excellence for Every Day

Cultivating greatness to love, live, and serve

ART MILLS

Just another WordPress.com site

