Achieving Our Dreams

4

August 28, 2017 by maryruwe

thWhat I’m sharing with you today is from my personal prayer time with my Lord.  I was reading a testimony of a woman who realized her dream of being a writer after twenty years.  My thoughts went to “how about 30, 35, or 40 years”, and that’s when I heard God speaking to me.  He spoke of the process of dreams that people have for their lives, and He showed me mine.

Somehow I had not made the connection between some of life’s events as being the process in reaching my dream.  If you are a parent you probably have told your children (or remember your parents telling you) that school is preparing you for a better future.  But how many people actually carry this over into their adult life in regard of one job position being a preparation for another, or do we just think it’s a natural sequence rather than a God-sequence of getting us where He wants us.  Something we all need to think about.

Here is a childhood memory to make a point: I remember when I was very young sitting in the backyard with pencil and paper pretending I was keeping track of supplies for a business.  Did I realize or know then that I would actually have that very responsibility in two of my job positions later as an adult?  No, at that age I wasn’t even thinking about my life as an adult in that respect, I was just using my imagination.  I’m sure that many of you could think back to a similar incident in your life too.

I should make a point to clarify that when I’m speaking of a “dream” in this post, I’m not speaking a having a dream while sleeping.  I’m talking about our thinking and imagination of a dream of what we might like to do and be.  I heard a speaker say once that, “if we can imagine it, we can have it”.  However, most children don’t know that their imagination of doing something is the beginning of a dream, unless of course they have that encouragement.  Children don’t make the connection between their imagination and how God works in our lives to help us reach who we are to be in Him.

Now back to when God showed me where I had missed the mark, otherwise known as a mistake, in a manner of speaking.  He said that, “I had the dream; I saw the dream and I wanted the dream, but it was always in the future.  I never actually saw it coming to fruition; I never really saw myself as the writer”.  Ouch!  That hurt.  I repented and asked Him to forgive me, for I knew He was right; He is always right.

This lesson is an easy lesson and yet so many of us miss accomplishing this lesson because we are prone to leave the dream in the future rather than seeing it in the present. Regardless of what your dream is, there is a process in reaching it; the dream itself is the beginning.   In my case, God showed me that the minute I began to write down the devotionals, that’s when I became the writer; even if no one else at that beginning stage saw them.  That truth really came to me when I realized that I was being a writer with weekly devotionals on this blog.  Duh!  I take encouragement from the fact that God saw those notes, and has nurtured this gift of writing all these years.  Thank you Lord!

We must keep in mind that there is a process in reaching our goals and making our dreams come true.  First, we have a thought of what might be: that’s the beginning of a dream.  Everything begins with a thought.   Secondly, there is the journey to reaching the fruition of that dream: the preparation.  We must take time to learn what is needed to reach that dream.  A person doesn’t start out being a doctor, or teacher; there is schooling and training involved before getting the license.  This is true for any vocation or profession; there is an entry level of learning of the basics that must take place. Thirdly, we need to see ourselves being successful in reaching that dream.  We need to guard against keeping the dream in the future; and be diligent to seeing it in the present.

Is this the end of the dream?  Certainly not!  It’s just the end of the beginning of what I could see of the dream.  I believe there is more that God has for me to do.  With God our dreams just keep expanding because there is always more that He has for us.  As we are faithful and obedient in what He has us doing at the present, He will open up new avenues to further enhance our dreams, enlarging our dreams until the whole picture of His plan for us comes into view.

The Amplified Bible tells us in Proverbs 16:9, A man’s mind plans his way (as he journeys through life), but the Lord directs his steps and establishes them.

I do hope you have enjoyed this testimonial lesson and find it encouraging in working toward the dream and dreams that God has placed in your heart.  Don’t give up, keep working, and don’t grow weary in working for and toward what God has for you.  In Him there is always more, exceedingly abundantly more, than what we ask or think.  (Ephesians 3:20)

(Luke 16:10) He who is faithful in a very little thing is also faithful in much.

(Galatians 6:9)  Let us not grow weary or become discouraged in doing well, for at the proper time we will reap, if we do not give in (up).

(Proverbs 23:7)  For as he thinks in his heart, so is he.  (We need to monitor what we are thinking about ourselves.  We become what we are thinking.)

(Joshua 1:8)  We are to meditate the Word of God night and day so we are able to observe to do according to all that is written in it; for that is how to make our way prosperous and have good success.

(Ephesians 3:20)  Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Achieving Our Dreams

  1. jccampbell0532 says:

    Mary, thanks for sharing your personal testimony. It is amazing.Jan C

    Sent via the Samsung Galaxy S7 edge, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

  2. karlajetat says:

    Thank you for your encouraging word.

    Love you,

    Karla

Leave a Reply

karlaskadence

Music and Words, Rhythmically Played.

Excellence for Every Day

Cultivating greatness to love, live, and serve

ART MILLS

Just another WordPress.com site

