God’s Legacy To Us

2

October 24, 2017 by maryruwe

thWhen I woke up a couple of days ago my spirit was thinking about God’s Legacy.  A legacy is what we leave as an inheritance.  We’ve all heard of an inheritance that someone received or will receive in the future.  Inheritances come in different varieties.  Some are monetary in value – which all of us probably would hope for – if we were honest!  However there are other kinds of inheritances that have value also, such as a good name, good family relationships, being taught good moral values and work ethics and how to be kind to one another.  This list could go one for several pages if all of us were to mention the legacy we received from a parent, aunt, uncle, or friend.

So, to be sure we understand this topic:

We’ve all received a legacy and we will all leave a legacy.    

The interesting thing about legacies/inheritances is that what we leave to others is NOT necessarily dependent on what we received.  In other words we CAN choose whether or not to pass on the kind of legacy we have received.  If we are not happy with what was given to us via how we were raised – as in a home that was filled with strife, anger, harshness, the type or level of education etc., we can choose to do better and leave a better legacy – of peace, kindness, and gentleness.

However, the very best legacy we can leave to others is God’s legacy.  So let’s talk about His Legacy. 

God is love It’s not that God has love – but that HE IS LOVE!  (1 John 4:7-8; Romans 5:5)  Everything He does is based on His love; His goodness towards us.  This means the better we know Him the more able we are to love others.  Our family, friends and co-workers would appreciate very much if we would bring love into their lives and not hate or bitterness.

I first realized God’s love for me when my daughter was born.  When I held this sweet baby in my arms I knew that I would always love her.  At that moment I heard in my spirit the voice of God saying to me, “that’s how I love you; you don’t have to be perfect for me to love you”.

God is always with us.  No matter where we travel or what we are doing or who we are with, God is with us.  We really need to get a handle of this truth. When we know and believe this concept – that He is always with us – we are better able to handle adverse circumstances that come our way.  (Deuteronomy 31:6, 8; Hebrews 13:5)

Many times I’ve experienced the presence of God in my life, and many of those times occurred when I realized God intervened in my life to help me forgive someone who had hurt me; or save me from being in an accident while driving.

God is good.  We need to understand that God’s goodness is better than anything the world has to offer us.  His goodness toward us is even better than what our closest family or friend can give us because God is holy and just and forever has our best interest in His heart.  God does not withhold any good thing from those who walk uprightly.  We are His workmanship of good works.  (Psalm 73:1, Psalm 84:11, 2 Corinthians 9:8, Ephesians 2:10)

I began to understand the goodness of God when I saw in His Word all the provisions He has made available for His children; good health, prosperity, Salvation, wisdom, and the list goes on.  Also I saw God’s goodness toward me when my son was born; the blessing of another child – what a wonderful sweet miracle of a baby.

God has given us authority in the Name of Jesus.  We can go and make disciples of Jesus by the authority of His Name.  Also the name of Jesus is above every name so we can lay hands on the sick and they shall recover.  We can ask anything of God in the Name of Jesus; He watches over His Word to perform it for His children.  (Matthew 28:18-19; Mark 16:15-18, Romans 4:17, 1 Peter 2:24)

I have learned over the years that we are to be imitators of Jesus, and since He spoke to the weather when the waves and storms arose in the sea, I realized that with the authority in His Name I could do the same when tornados were said to be coming near me.  Jesus also commanded sickness and diseases to leave the body of the sick and they recovered; so again I do as He did and speak to symptoms and diseases that want to attack my body and I command them to leave and I believe that I receive the healing that Jesus purchased for me with the stripes on His back.

God calls us out of darkness into His marvelous light.  He made us a chosen generation.  The light of His presence in our lives makes known to us the paths we should walk.  God cares for us.  We can trust Him to bring good out of every situation.  We are to cast all our cares, our worries, problems and concerns onto Him for He cares for us.   (1 Peter 2:9; Romans 8:28; 1 Peter 5:7)

When I was a young adult I suffered from depression.  It was when I learned the truth and power in having the joy of the Lord to be my strength that I was able to rise above the attacks of oppression and depression.  God set me free from that darkness and brought me into His Light of love, mercy, healing and acceptance.  Thank you God, I am forever grateful.

God’s yoke is gentle, easy, and rest for our souls.   When most people think of a yoke, we picture two animals joined together to pull a cart or till a field.  Spiritually speaking, Jesus is the yoke that joins us together with the Heavenly Father.  It is the Blood of Jesus that binds us in love with the Heavenly Father.  We are ambassadors for Christ to preach the Gospel to the nations.  (Ephesians 4:16, 2 Corinthians 5:20, 2 Timothy 4:2, 1 Peter 4:10)

When we are living for Christ our service to Him and with Him is not harsh or hard, but gentle, easy, and joyous.  We are all called to minister to one another and whether we’re teaching the Word in a classroom, from the pulpit, or praying with someone we are working with Jesus to bring them to the Father; and this in turn brings a joy and rest to our souls in knowing we are doing the work of the Lord.

God’s legacy towards us is that He is a loving God providing forgiveness for our sins through the redeeming Blood of Jesus, healing for our sicknesses and diseases by the stripes on Jesus’ back, helping us in the times of trouble, and providing for all our needs.  He also gives us a sound mind for making wise decisions, and grace to live according to His Word.  (Ephesians 1:7; 1 Peter 2:24; Hebrews 4:16; 2 Timothy 1:7; James 1:5; Ephesians 2:10)

My prayer for us this week is that we realize that everywhere we go we are the Legacy of God in action bringing His love to the world.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “God’s Legacy To Us

  1. Kim says:

    Awesome, Mary! Thank you for sharing! Kim

Leave a Reply

karlaskadence

Music and Words, Rhythmically Played.

Excellence for Every Day

Cultivating greatness to love, live, and serve

ART MILLS

Just another WordPress.com site

